(January 20, 2021) Assistant professor Feng Lin was announced as one of two winners of the 2020 Energy Storage Materials Young Scientist Award by the journal Energy Storage Materials. The journal named Dr. Ho Seok Park from Sungkyunkwan University in South Korea as the other Young Scientist Award winner, and Dr. Yoshino Akira, 2019 Nobel laureate, as its recipient of the 2020 Energy Storage Materials Achievement Award. According to the publisher’s website, Energy Storage Materials is a journal focused on the field of “materials and their devices for advanced energy storage and relevant energy conversion.” Lin was nominated for his independent, pioneering studies in understanding and controlling how local chemical and structural heterogeneities, such as grain boundaries, dislocations, point defects, and electrochemical interface, govern redox reactions in solids.

For more information about his research, visit his group website here: https://thelinlabatvt.weebly.com/